Monday, December 11th, 2017

Allstate Sugar Bowl

Published on January 4, 2011 by   ·   1 Comment

sugar-bowl-logoThe Sugar Bowl is the last of the four BCS bowl games to be played this year. The Sugar Bowl will feature the winner of the SEC (except when the SEC champion plays for a National Championship) against an at-large BCS team. This year’s matchup feature two at-large teams: The Arkansas Razorbacks (10-2) from the SEC and the Ohio State Buckeyes (11-1) from the Big Ten.

The Sugar bowl is tied with the Orange Bowl and Sun Bowl as the 2nd oldest college football bowl game. Because of the success of the Rose Bowl, local New Orleans supporters first tossed around the idea of a New Year’s Bowl game to be hosted in their own city. The Sugar Bowl has been held in the Louisiana Superdome since 1975, the same year that a deal was announced with the Southeastern Conference.

The Sugar Bowl has determined the National Championship on a number of different years, including the 2000 and 2004 BCS championship games. Since the advent of the National Championship game that is played separate from the other four BCS bowl games, this will no longer be the case.

Kickoff is set for Tuesday, January 4th at 8:30PM ET from the Superdome in New Orleans. You can watch this game on ESPN or listen to the game live on ESPN Radio.

Previous Bowl Results

The SEC is 11-5 in the past 20 years in the Sugar Bowl. Florida beat up on Cincinnati last year 51-24. Ohio State is 1-2 in the Sugar Bowl while Arkansas is also 1-2, but hasn’t played in a Sugar Bowl since 1980.


It’s been well documented that Ohio State has struggled in bowl games against the SEC. The Buckeyes have never beaten an SEC team in a bowl game going 0-9. However, Ohio State has not had this problem against the other conferences as they are the last team to beat Oregon in last year’s Rose Bowl.

Arkansas has not traditionally done well against in their bowl games. They are 3-8 in bowl games since 1990 and 12-22-3 overall. They did win their last bowl game in overtime in the 2010 Liberty Bowl over East Carolina by the score of 20-17.

Sugar Bowl Breakdown

RecordsOhio State: 11-1; Arkansas: 10-2
All Time Bowl RecordOhio State: 19-22; Arkansas: 12-22-3
Key WinsOhio State: Miami 36-24, Iowa 20-17, Michigan 37-7; Arkansas: South Carolina 41-20, Mississippi State 38-31, LSU 31-23
Key LossesOhio State: Wisconsin 31-18; Arkansas: Alabama 24-20, Auburn 65-43

Since the Big Ten has proven itself incapable of being respectable this year, I have to discredit the strength of all of Ohio State’s wins save one, the early season Miami game that was at the Horseshoe. But, Miami has gone south as well this year. When all is said and done, OSU has lost the only game that should have been in question against Wisconsin.

The SEC has proven this year that the conference is hands down better then the Big Ten. Arkansas has played well and won against several tough opponents down the stretch, including big wins at South Carolina and MSU and an impressive home win against LSU to finish the season.

The main matchup here is the opposing forces of the Buckeyes always losing to the SEC against the combined futility of Arkansas in bowl games and anyone associated with Michigan (Ryan Mallet) ever beating Ohio State.

Points For/GameOhio State: 39.4; Arkansas: 37.3
Points Against/GameOhio State: 13.3; Arkansas: 22.8
Offensive Yards/GameOhio State: 449; Arkansas: 489

Ohio State has an equal offense compared to Arkansas but they have a better defense overall. Don’t forget that both of these teams score the bulk of their high average in points against inferior opponents like Tennessee Tech and Eastern Michigan.

Arkansas has shown the better offense in games that are against teams with good defenses. They scored 31 points against a great LSU defense that is comparable to Ohio State. However, Ohio State has only given up more than 20 points twice this season. Arkansas will have to do this in order to win the Sugar Bowl tonight.


Well, since I’ve been wrong with so many of my other predictions I think its about time to stop deciding with my heart in these big-time bowl games and start listening to what the numbers are telling me.

I originally picked the Buckeyes to win this game, but that was with the understanding that the Big Ten didn’t suck out loud. I was sure that Ryan Mallet was going to remember that he was once a Wolverine and promptly crap his pants when he played the Buckeyes. I don’t think this will be the case tonight. Razorbacks win a close game 24-17.

Previous Sugar Bowl Highlights

Tags: , , , ,

Readers Comments (1)

  1. […] (12-1) defeated Cincinnati (12-0) in the 2010 Sugar Bowl in a rout 51-24. Tim Tebow was the MVP by far with a total of 533 yards of […]

Sports Betting at

Related Posts